42. The Wall – Step Two

The second part of my Pink Floyd inspired Marlboro Sky cigarette has arrived. As you can see, I have painted the face of the man blue; it is the exact same shade of sky blue that I use for my redesigned Sky cigarette box and logo. The goal is to show “him” breaking out of the normal concept of what a Marlboro cigarette is. Open your mind and take a look into what a Marlboro Sky cigarette can be.
The color palette probably looks familiar.
Palette
So for this first process I have to paint carefully because the paper I used to sculpt the three-dimensional face is very delicate, so I have to paint it, let it dry fully and then do the next layers.
The face.
One wrong move and the face could just sink in or get a hole poked through it. After painting several layers I need to wait a full day for it to solidify.
The directive for this week is to prove that things took more than 45 minutes, and this one project clearly takes longer than that. Each step is done while keeping in mind that certain of the materials I make working with need to “set” for a bit before being completely useful.
So for this post, after letting the first layer of paint dry, each layer will contour the sculpture to make it look more and more like the iconic face from The Wall.

My next goal is to now create what constitutes the “wall” which represents the traditional aspect of the Marlboro brand. Stay tuned…

Leave a Reply

