34. Making it look “real,” Part one.

I was absent the day we needed to work with partners, so when the directive to work with somebody on a brand concept came up I was left a little high and dry. None the less, I knew I had to make it work somehow, so I scoped out some of my own partners.
So for this post, remember how I created that 3D model of a huge cigarette box with the new Marlboro Sky logo on it? Well I was thinking how I kind of screwed up how the font looked like, so it does not look very realistic. I also wanted to take a picture of it by itself so that way you as the audience could visual it as an actual cigarette box.
Don’t get me wrong, it looks like a cigarette box, but not a real one. So I teamed up with British photographer and good friend of mine Sean Stredwick. He has shot for Elle Magazine before and spends most of his time in Miami, he is a reputable photographer so I knew his work would be able to make the object look more like an actual cigarette box.
His step of the process was to photograph the box plain & simple, and then photoshop the squiggly wording I painted on there.
So after the basic shots were taken, here is what the box looked like…
New Box
This was actually really simple, what took the most was setting the shoot up and putting the box on the right kind of background. Since we got the lighting right, photoshopping my awful painted on font did not take too long.
What really took a long time was the next collaboration I had.

Leave a Reply

