32. Smoke on the water

A couple months ago I was photographed for a fashion collaboration between designer Angela Bacskocky & photographer Kimberly Frost. Kimberly Frost is a reputable fashion photographer who helped photograph Need Supply Co. in it’s early years, Kim’s work continues to grow and expand in all possible directions. Same can be said about designer Angela Bacskocky, she will be featured in the upcoming season of Lifetime’s Project Runway & she used to intern for Alexander McQueen when he was still alive.

The shoot I did for them was based off of Bacskocky’s new clothing collection called GHOST, it was inspired buy how the “ghosts” of our past relationships (romantic, familial, or friendly) haunt or new relationships. In the shoot I did I was turned into a ghostly sort of dead person.
The image turned out like this…
KIMBERLYFROSTCOPYRIGHT
I am not allowed to reveal what process Kim went through in order to create this sort of image of murky water, but I decided to borrow inspiration from this and create the image only using cigarettes.

Why this image?
The arrival of the safer and more efficient e-cigarrette marks the slow death of all regular cigarettes. The smoke of Marlboro Sky is lighter, healthier, and filled with less toxins than regular cigarettes. So my goal is to create a sort of “ghost” effect with the old Marlboro cigarettes. The hazy water also looks like the thick smoke that the regular cigarettes carry, so with all those aspects in mind I felt like I needed to imitate this image.
Like I said earlier, I cannot give you step by step instructions of how this image was created (contractual obligations) but you can definitely see the finished product!

Here it is…
Smoky water

as time passed and the cigarettes soaked you could see all the treated tobacco leaves appear, its as if we could see them decomposing, just like a dead person. I thought it looked pretty neat so I zoomed in and took a snapshot of it.
Zoomed in water

Now it may not be as good as the original image, but I think you get the point.

Leave a Reply

