14. A Furniture Collection Brought to you by Marlboro Sky: Light me up

As seen in my earlier posts, I am working on a collection of home decor that can be used to promote the Marlboro Sky Brand. Some pieces are for the home while others can be placed in bars or on porches and patios. So for my next two projects I am taking inspiration from the original Marlboro Man billboards.

These Billboards were set up in cities and usually featured a mechanical cowboy that would take a drag from his cigarette and puff out smoke, Camel & other brands also had elaborate ads like these, but all cigarette billboards had to be taken down in the late 90’s due to a lawsuit settlement. The last famous cowboy to be taken down was one in West Hollywood. The lawsuit was mainly targeted towards the Marlboro brand, so any trace of the old Marlboro ads are hard to find online.
My goal would be to bring back that warm feeling the lights give you by coming out with a few Marlboro decor items that light up!
So do you remember that huge three-dimensional box of Marlboro Reds I made?
Marlboro Box
Well I found a few old Christmas lights sitting around, half of the lights had blown out so my first order of business involved fixing the blown out lights.

After spending 30 minutes trying to figure out which light had blown out, I was able to get them functioning again. I flipped the big replica cigarette box on it’s back and then crammed all the lights into that tiny space.
Plenty of lights, little space
After arranging the lights to fit perfectly inside the box, I simply plugged the chord in and magic!
The Final Product!
Now this plain and boring box turned itself into a mini-Billboard of sorts. The light is reminiscent of all the Marlboro ads we used to see in Times Square, Las Vegas & Hollywood. Now one can easily recreate those advertising glory days right in the comfort of thine home.

Leave a Reply

